A police officer may pull you over if he/she suspects that you are driving under the influence of or are impaired by alcohol. Violating simple traffic laws usually leads to this suspicion (i.e. speeding, crossing over center line, driving on the shoulder).
After you are pulled over, the police officer will likely ask you to perform various field sobriety tests and conduct a breathalyzer test. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer, the police officer will confiscate your Maryland driver’s license and give you a paper temporary license that is valid for 45 days. On the 46th day, your driving privileges are suspended for 12 days for a first offense and 1 year for a second or subsequent offense.
Those drivers that refuse the test have very limited options in trying to get restricted driving privileges. A driver can either accept the 120 day (or 1 year) suspension, which means no driving whatsoever, or they can participate in the ignition interlock program for a 1 year period.
A driver charged with DUI/DWI in Maryland is left with more options in situations where they take the breathalyzer test, especially for first-time offenders.
If you or a family member has been charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland and would like a free legal consultation or if you would like more information on DUI or DWI please feel free to contact our office at (301) 854-9000 and schedule an appointment at our office in Laurel or throughout Maryland, or visit us on the web at http://www.portnerandshure.com/Criminal-Defense/DWI-DUI/